That Anne Girl IV

I just finished book #4, Anne of Windy Poplars, and I’m deep into Anne’s House of Dreams. Looks like I’m not going to finish the series by summer’s end, but somehow, it seems fitting that I begin Anne’s ‘adult’ married life in the autumn.

From Anne of Windy Poplars:

Poor Dear Gilbert,

‘I said of laughter, it is mad, and of mirth, what doeth?’ I’m afraid I’ll turn gray young…I’m afraid I’ll end up in the poorhouse…I’m afraid none of my pupils will pass their finals…Mr. Hamilton’s dog barked at me Saturday night and I’m afraid I’ll have hydrophobia…I’m afraid my umbrella will turn inside out when I keep a tryst with Katherine tonight…I’m afraid Katherine likes me so much now that she can’t always like me as much…I’m afraid my hair isn’t auburn after all…I’m afraid I’ll have a mole on the end of my nose when I’m fifty…I’m afraid my school is a fire trap…I’m afraid I’ll find a mouse in my bed tonight…I’m afraid you got engaged to me just because I was always around…I’m afraid I’ll soon be picking at the counterpane.

[…]

Gilbert darling, don’t let’s ever be afraid of things. It’s such dreadful slavery. Let’s be daring and adventurous and expectant. Let’s dance to meet life and all it can bring to us, even if it brings scads of trouble and typhoid and twins!

[…]

Gilbert, I’m afraid I’m scandalously in love with you. You don’t think it’s irreverent, do you? But then, you’re not a minister.

Leave a Reply

