Is That Necessary?

Upstate New York (and pretty much everywhere else) is under an “Excessive Heat Warning.” Yesterday, while driving around in my air conditioned 2007 Toyota Matrix, I was listening to the news. A spokesperson for the Red Cross was interviewed about how to deal with the heat. She said the usual things, “stay out of the sun, keep the shades drawn, check on elderly neighbors…avoid heavy meals…”

Avoid heavy meals?

Avoid heavy meals?

Let me type that one more time.

Avoid heavy meals?

Never have I heard that in all my life. Is there nothing busybodies can’t do?

I think I’ll crack open Mastering the Art of French Cooking and invite Ms. Red Cross over for a four course meal.

With the shades drawn, of course.

Leave a Reply

