Isn’t She Lovely?

Charlotte Mabel

Sorry for the silence but I’ve been a bit busy. On Saturday, January 2 at 1:44 pm I delivered my first born. Yes, she’s the cutest, most precious bundle of joy ever to arrive on Earth. The delivery was natural, no drugs. I might have changed my mind but the labor was relatively quick (though it didn’t seem so at the time).

The one thing about post delivery that you never really hear much about is that you can’t sit on your ARSE for a long time. All the baby articles are about when you can start exercising and there will be bleeding. I’m thinking bleeding like menstral bleeding, but HELL no; it’s nasty and there’s a lot of it.

Charlotte had elevated jaundice levels, called bilirubin and we were readmitted for an overnight stay at the hospital so she could lay under light for about 12 hours. Bilirubin sounds like Billy Budd and I hate them both. I was a total mess  seeing my girl looking like she was at the tanning salon and the night nurses at the (undisclosed) hospital were lacking customer service skills. We were happy to take Charlotte home when her levels dropped.

After one more visit to the pediatricians yesterday, we can now rest comfortably at home for the first time since Monday. Phew!

2 responses to “Isn’t She Lovely?

  1. She certainly is lovely, wonderful and precious! Congrats to you both. Love the sweater set your mom made too. It won’t be long before we will be able to see those chubby hands sticking out. Your mom gave me the pattern to make for a future baby gift. Can’t wait to start dropping all those stitches, just because I can!!!! Enjoy your new little one.

  2. Thanks for your kind words! Charlotte is a bundle of joy. What a blessing.

Leave a Reply

