Veggie Feast

I’m one of those “sorta” vegetarians. I can not do without a veggie omelette and salmon steak but I eschew dairy. (Makes me gassy.) About every four or five years I hold a Veggie Feast where I invite friends and family to my place where I cook a ton of vegetarian dishes. My last one was in New Bedford, MA (2004) and it had a brunch theme. Because this year I have a patio with a grill, the theme was a no-brainer, COOK-OUT!

Nine folks trekked all the way out to Leominster, MA for an afternoon of eats and conversation. The menu was:

Appetizers: Spinach-Artichoke Hummus, Avocado Salsa, Lentil-Bulgar Stuffed Grape Leaves

Main Course: Grilled Veggie Kabobs (in a homemade marinade), Spaghetti Salad, Sweet Potato Salad

Dessert: Fruit Tart, Oreo Truffles, Soy ice cream (the only store bought dish)  

I must admit it was hard work. I cooked most of the dishes the day before and was cooking about an hour before the first guests arrived but it was all worth it. Every dish came out spectacular (if I do say so myself) and each lady (it was a ladies-only event) went home with copies of all the recipes enclosed in a Night Garden Photography greeting card.

Where was Hubby? He worked that day and then headed over to his folks where his Dad grilled steak. They celebrated an anti-Veggie Feast.

I suppose the next Feast will be in 2013.

Leave a Reply

