Sitting in the Courtyard

As a Protestant I had this image/vision/daydream of sitting in Heaven in the courtyard, while everyone else was in God’s presence in some unsee-able building. That was o.k. with me. I preferred sitting on the courtyard steps if that was all I was allowed to do. I think I got that image from Psalm 100:4

Enter the temple gates with praise, its courts with thanksgiving. Give thanks to God, bless his name;

MonstranceWell, that image has stayed with me for years. Two years ago when I started the Catholic journey, I learned about Eucharistic Adoration.  Not knowing what to expect I drove to the chapel for the scheduled Adoration. The gathered group prayed the Divine Mercy Chaplet and the rest of the time was spent in silent prayer.

In the silence my image jumped out. It was not in some unknowing future but NOW I was sitting in the courtyard. I was worshipping Him with Him right in front of me. This morning I drove over to church, spent about 30 minutes praying the Rosary and just sitting in silence. Driving away, I felt imprinted deep down. I always get that impression.

What an incredible gift.

2 responses to “Sitting in the Courtyard

  1. When I went to St. Stephen’s, P’dence, we regularly had the Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament. I loved the way the priest would put the wafer in a monstrance and make the sign of the Cross over the people with the cross-shaped vessel. When things are really meta like that it feels to me like the order and shape of heaven.

Leave a Reply

