Hausfrau Offering II

Hausfrau

Hubby & Me

For my second installment of the neato domestic doings I wish to share with you, here is my cracker recipe. This is a very simple recipe and I’ve been experimenting with making more “fancy schmancy” versions but I’m not QUITE there yet. (Currently my fancy schmancy crackers turn out like flat bread, which I know sounds very exotic, but really isn’t in reality.)

Simple Crackers

1 Cup all purpose flour

2 Tablespoons margerine/butter/oil (like corn)

Preheat oven to 400 F. Place parchment paper or lightly dust some flour on a baking sheet. Take out the handy food processor and mix the flour, butter and a pinch of salt. (At this point you could add rosemary, thyme, ground flax seeds.) Drizzle some water, no more than 1/4 C, while mixing. Stop mixing when the dough is holding together.

Roll out the dough on the floured baking pan. IMPORTANT: Roll out the dough as thin as possible so it bakes crunchy. I end up rolling a number of dough batches to make this work. Using a knife, score the dough into squares. (Or not if you want to break them into yuppy/artisan/Au Bon Pain looking crackers.) Before placing in the oven, you can sprinkle salt or any other kind of seasoning that suites your fancy.

I have a slow baking oven, so I leave the crackers to bake for about 22-25 minutes. Basically, leave them in until they start to brown. 

It took me three tries before I got “real” crackers. Good Luck!!!

Leave a Reply

