Hausfrau Offering I

Ever since I left the rat race behind (a whole TWO weeks ago), I’ve been releasing my inner housewife. I will share with you the fruit of my domestic doings. Today I offer you my Super Duper Spinach Artichoke Hummus Recipe. (I’ve been tweeking this sucker for awhile.)

1 19 oz can of chickpeas (if you can only find 14.5 oz cans, adjust amounts accordingly), drained and rinsed

1 12 oz bottle of artichoke hearts (basically you’ll be using half, 6 oz, in the recipe)

1/3 cup tahini

2 cloves garlic (use as much or a little as you like)

8 oz frozen cut spinach (basically half of a 16 oz package)

Keep by your food processor ready to use: ground (or whole seed) cumin, salt (I like kosher salt best but sea salt works great, too), black pepper, paprika, lemon juice, olive oil, 1/4 cup water

In a food processor put in your chickpeas, tahini, 1 clove (or more) garlic, a squirt of lemon juice, a dash of olive oil, and put into as much or as little of the other spices as you like. Turn the food processor on high. Puree until smooth. If it seems a little chunky and not smooth, dizzle the water while puree’ing. (Not all at once!) I also add a little more lemon juice and olive oil. Once is looks smooth, stop, taste, and add some more seasonings according to your liking. Leave the hummus in the food processor for the moment.

Now for the spinach: In a skillet, heat up some olive oil and add a clove of garlic. Saute the garlic for about a minute. Add the frozen spinach (I don’t thaw it beforehand. Too impatient.) Break up the spinach and cover for 5 minutes. Uncover and break up whatever frozen spinach is still chunky. At this point you want to evaporate as much water as you can. I sprinkle powdered garlic and onion and some salt over the spinach while stirring. Just about when you think most of the wetness (it will never get dry and you don’t want it that way.) is evaporated, add a dash of lemon juice during the last 30 seconds.

Place half of the sauteed spinach into the hummus still sitting in the processor. Puree the spinach until it’s evenly mixed into small pieces throughout the hummus. Last step (phew!): mix by hand the remainder of the sauteed spinach into the hummus.

Store hummus in an airtight plastic container and let it sit for at least two hours in the fridge. (Overnight is even better.) This allows the flavors to mingle and get to know each other.

You may need to tweek this recipe to your own taste. I’ve probably broken at least 6 cooking rules (“You don’t THAW your spinach?!?”)  verbotten on the Food Network but what the heck, it works for me.

ENJOY!!! And let me know if you’ve tried it. 🙂

One response to “Hausfrau Offering I

  1. I haven’t made it yet, but if it this recipe is the one you brought to Nana’s house…well let’s put it this way…..I put it in the wrong goody bag….It should have been in my bag…..YUUUMMMMM!!!!!

Leave a Reply

