Now What?

I’m living through Day 2 of the purposefully unemployed. What did I do on Day 1? Got up at 6 a.m. (Yes, that’s sleeping in for me.) Made myself a breakfast of two eggs, toast, and brewed a few cups of Shelburne Falls Breakfast Blend coffee. (I can feel my blood turning blue with every sip.)

Then I spiffed up the place because the condo association had scheduled a contractor to check out each unit’s fire alarm system. I had to get out of my pajamas and put on some real clothes by 10 a.m. Sheesh! While the contractors were doing their thing, I tried my second attempt at making crackers. It’s easy but with anything, one must tweek the recipe. I added lots of garlic powder and cilantro to the dough and rolled it as thin as I could. It still looks and tastes more like flatbread than crackers but it’s better than the first batch and will only get better.

I also tried my hand at making spinach artichoke hummus. I can barely taste the artichoke but it would make a good garlic hummus. That ingredient I can taste in spades. Practice. Practice. Practice.

When Hubby came home, we tried running but it was so cold and windy, we both decided that 1/2 mile was enough. Seriously, it was cold. In the evening we attended mass at St. Leo’s in Leominster, ate leftover lentil stew and watched the Bruins beat the Canadiens in Montreal, 3-2.

Overall, it was a good Day 1. And Day 2? I started a Crock Pot meal, a chicken dish with lots of tomato sauce, garlic, onions, green bell peppers and carrots. Not to worry, I’ll be making a batch of homemade seitan later in the day for moi. Yes, I’m indulging my inner hausfrau. I kinda like it.

Just hanging.

Just hanging.

Leave a Reply

