Road Warrior Strikes Again

My reward

My reward

On Sunday I completed my third Seacoast Century ride sponsored by the Granite State Wheelman. I’ve always enjoyed this ride because it’s (mostly) flat and there are lots of families who do this together. The 100 miler starts at Hampton Beach State Park in NH, heads south to Newburyport, MA and then turns north to Cape Neddick, ME and then back to Hampton Beach. I couldn’t ask for a nicer day: sunny with a hint of autumn coolness.

This time there was a difference in the riders. I didn’t see that many families and those who rode, were out for speed. I don’t know if it was because of the Portsmouth Criterium happening that day (a criterium is basically cyclists going in a circle really fast or, in this case, going around downtown Portsmouth really fast) or what but sometimes I felt like I was the turtle and everyone else was the hare. I admit, I’m not a fast rider but I can hold my own. Sheesh. But I did stop to smell the roses…well actually…to take a few photos which you can see on flickr.

Leave a Reply

