Scotland Forever

Hubby and I had a wonderful weekend. On Saturday we attended the New Hampshire Highland Games at Loon Mountain. I attended one in Syracuse, NY when I was about 8 or 9 years old. I have two memories of that event: the huge hot dog I ate and burly men tossing trees. (Funny what a kid thinks is cool.)

On Saturday I didn’t eat a hot dog but I did see burly men tossing the cayber (Scottish for “tree”). It was actually very cool watching these grown men flip a pole weighing 130 pounds, topping 17 feet in height. They made it more interesting when they switched to a cayber 140 pounds, 18 feet. Tossing it up so the cayber “clocks” in at 12 o’clock, garners the best score. Anything less is angled at 11:30, 10 and so on and scored accordingly. Earlier in the day we watched men toss boulders like pebbles. Again, it was very cool to witness.

Lost Scottish Clans

Lost Scottish Clans

At one point, we watched pipers competing individually in front of judges. All of the pipers looked as cool as cucumbers (or is it haggis?) in front of a panel of at least two judges. I’m not sure what they were scoring on. Appearance? Tone? Correct notes? Probably all of the above. We also saw highland dancers doing their thing in front of judges, as well. Hubby and I were watching from behind which allowed us an unvarnished view of their swishing skirts. I chided Hubby for picking this angle. He blushed appropriately.

All in all, Scottish culture is alive and well in the United States. Check out my flickr site for more views (BTW, not one unvarnished swishing skirt in sight!)

Leave a Reply

