Please Say Goodnight to the Guy, Irene

By the time Irene hits our area, she will be a tropical storm; wind gusts over 40 mph and lots and lots of rain. Hubby and I are prepared for the power to go out. (The pitfalls of living in the boondocks.) Besides the hurricane lamps (filled with oil, thank you very much) and cans of tuna, if the power goes out, I can crank our victrola and sing along with Ziggy Talent to that memorable tune, “Please Say Goodnight to the Guy, Irene.”

There’s a guy who comes a-callin’ on the gal who lives next door
And the gal who lives next door is called Irene
Ev’ry night I hear him callin’ to the gal who lives next door
“Goodnight!”, “Goodnight!”, “Goodnight!” Goodnight!” until I want to
scream

Oh, please say “Goodnight” to the guy, Irene, and let me get some
sleep
Please say “Goodnight” or I’ll die, Irene
Won’t you give us both a break, say “Goodnight” for heaven’s sake
We’ve been havin’ thunder showers and his clothes are soakin’ wet
He’s been hangin’ ’round for hours and you haven’t answered yet, have
mercy!
Please say goodnight to the guy, Irene, get lost, Irene, go West,
Irene
Go North, go South, go East, I need some rest, Irene
And let me get some sleep

(Instrumental Break)

Please say “Goodnight” to the guy, Irene, and let me get some sleep
Pl-e-e-e-e-e-ase say “Goodnight” or I’ll die Irene
Won’t you give us both a break, say “Goodnight” for heaven’s sake
We’ve been havin’ thunder showers and his clothes are soakin’ wet
He’s been hangin’ ’round for hours and you haven’t answered yet, have
mercy!
Please say goodnight to the guy, Irene, get lost, Irene, go West,
Irene
Go North, go South, go East, I need some rest, Irene
And let me get some sle-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e-e–ep

One response to “Please Say Goodnight to the Guy, Irene

  1. fun song! ;o)

Leave a Reply

